E-2 visa can be obtained only by citizens of countries with which the USA has the Treaty of Commerce and Navigation. These countries include:

  • Ukraine
  • Lithuania
  • Latvia
  • Estonia
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Georgia
  • Moldova
  • Poland

What are the benefits of an E-2 visa?

  • Most importantly, the investor visa gives you the right to own a business in the USA. You can either start your own business or become the main partner in the existing one.
  • This visa may be extended an unlimited number of times depending on the state of your business in the USA.
  • Since it is not an immigration visa, the waiting period won’t be long.
  • E-2 visa grants you the ability to work legally in the United States for your own company, receive wages and profits just like American citizens.
  • E-2 visa allows you to bring your family members (spouse and children) to the USA with you. However, this visa covers only children under 21.
  • If there are a lot of employees at the enterprise you invest in, you can get additional E-2 visas for general managers. They may stay in the USA on E-2 visas while you work for the company.
  • Receiving the investor E-2 visa, allows you to buy property in the USA. Even when you lose your visa status, the property will remain yours.

Is it possible for family members to obtain an E-2 visa?

page-41__image-1

Yes, there is such an opportunity: the investor’s children and spouses can obtain an E-2 visa. On arrival in the US, spouses have the right to apply for work permits and work at any enterprise, including the investor’s company.

The investor’s children under 21 can only receive non-working status, which will allow them to attend American school/college but will not allow them to earn money.

What are the differences between E-2 visa and L-1 visa?

E-2 visa has advantages compared to other non-immigration visas. L-1 and E-2 visas are different in many ways. However, every visa has its own benefits and drawbacks.

The main thing that should be kept in mind: the L-1 visa allows you to work in America for many years without applying for permanent residence, at the same time having immigration intent. The E-2 visa does not allow such a thing.

In order to get approval for an E-2 visa application, you do not need to receive confirmation from USCIS — just wait for the decision of the American Consulate in your country of residence.

E-2 visa may be granted for varying periods of stay – from 3 months to 5 years depending on the applicant’s country of citizenship. After receiving the E-2 visa, it can be constantly extended, even if we are talking about investing in a new company. There is no strict time frame. While you are investing money in a business in the United States, you meet the requirements of this visa so you can put your mind at rest.

It is also important to know that those who want to get an E-2 visa do not need to prove ownership of a business in their country of residence or the existence of ties between American and foreign companies.

Immigration and non-immigration dual intent.

The main characteristic of the Investor E-2 visa which distinguishes it from an L-1 visa is non-immigration intentions. When applying for the E-2 visa, you must confirm that you will depart the United States once the visa expires, that is, you do not plan to remain in the United States.

If you are the owner, executive director or senior manager and you have received an L-1 visa, you are allowed to have dual immigration intentions. This is not possible with an E-2 visa. That is, even if you are planning to immigrate to the United States in the future and you are open about that, or even if you are applied for permanent residence, you will be able to obtain an L-1 visa anyway (but not E-2 visa).

What is required to obtain an E-2 visa?

  • page-41__image-2
    First of all, you must be a citizen of the country with which investments are allowed on mutually beneficial terms and conditions. Otherwise, an E-2 visa cannot be obtained even if all other requirements are met.
  • page-41__image-5
    You have to prove that you posses sufficient financial resources. In other words, to obtain an E-2 visa, you must demonstrate that you are a wealthy person, and that when you invest in American business, you will not live yourself and your family without means of support.
  • page-41__image-4
    The origin of your funds must be proved. This is perhaps the most important and complex requirement for those who wish to receive an E-2 visa. The money you invest in buying or opening a business must be honestly earned. It implies that the money has been credited to your personal bank account and taxes have been paid. You cannot use for these purposes the money you earned through running your own business, in other words, you cannot use the funds in your business bank account. Instead, you have to transfer this money to your personal bank account and pay income taxes. If your savings are related to the sale of real estate, you must prove that the property was yours or, if it wasn’t, then the gift contract must be submitted. You cannot use your offshore accounts to invest in a business in the USA. In case a relative or spouse has allocated funds to you, the legality of his or her funds must also be proved.

     

    The transfer of funds in the United States should also be legal and transparent. The money cannot be brought in a suitcase, or earned in the USA without having a special working status. You need to have specific bank statements showing how the money came from the bank in your country to an American bank.

  • page-41__image-3
    You will have to pass the Proportionality test to determine whether your investment in a US company is substantial. Thus, for example, you cannot buy a loss-making small inactive business for a million dollars if the value of such a business in the market does not exceed $ 100,000. You cannot exaggerate the purchase price of a business in order to show that your investment is substantial.
  • page-41__image-6
    When investing money in a business in the USA, you will also need to prove that you have the capacity to develop this business and manage your investments. According to the USA immigration law, at least 50% of the interest in the purchased company must belong to you and it is you who should control the management of the enterprise. In this regard, possessing 51% (or more) of the interest in the acquired company increases your chances of obtaining an E-2 visa since having the majority of shares gives you control over the enterprise. On the other hand, it is not always easy to prove your control over the enterprise with only 50% of the interest.
  • page-41__image-7
    If you invest in a business, it is crucial to provide workplaces for American citizens as well. Otherwise, your company would be counted as a workplace designed only for citizens of your country which is a direct violation of the investment treaty. Always take into consideration that a certain number of jobs has to be allocated to US citizens. There are no special requirements about their number but it should be correlated with the total number of jobs in the company.
  • page-41__image-8
    Every investor has to prove that he or she has business acumen, capacity to conduct business and significant work experience. You will also need to demonstrate that you have connections with the homeland and that in your country of residence you are a wealthy businessman who has the financial means and opportunities.

Is money the only possible kind of investment?

No, money is not the only possible kind of investment especially when it comes to a down payment. Real assets also play a large part.

For example, for a newly established company, equipment, various inventory, etc., can be a good investment. This kind of investment is appreciated as equipping your company would mean you are planning to take its development seriously.

Also, investments may include real estate and expenditures associated with the company such as, for example, services of a lawyer.

page-41__image-9

Documents required to prove your contribution to business development?

When allocating a certain capital for investment, its size needs to be fixed. To do this, you must provide the following documents:

  • documents from the bank confirming the transfer of funds for investing in a business in the United States;
  • shares transfer documents;
  • a bank statement, reflecting the current state of your account balance;
  • documents confirming that a part of a third party investment funds is frozen until the E-2 visa applicant receives these funds;
  • a contract for the purchase of a business in the USA;
  • a lease or a contract for the purchase of a real estate which you, as an investor, will be using for your business in the USA;
  • the company’s debt obligations which have been taken over by a new head;
  • a document authorizing the transfer of inventory or goods the company produces (in case you have decided to transport them from another country).

It is also necessary to provide documents confirming sources of investment you used to acquire a business in the United States. These can include bank accounts, savings, your country’s corporate income taxes, shares transfer documents, or funds.

Does it matter where to get money for investment?

Of course, it does! It is not a coincidence that documents confirming the legality of your investment source are listed in the last paragraph. Fraud in this area is not uncommon, so all documents are thoroughly scrutinized. To get an E-2 visa without difficulties, make sure your investments come from a lawful source; otherwise, you can forget about entering the territory of America.

Are there any limitations?

There are always limitations, and the investor E-2 visa is no exception.

  • Due to the fact that this is not an immigration visa, it has to be extended from time to time. The validity period of the visa may vary from 3 months to 5 years, depending on the applicant’s country of citizenship.
  • All requirements that are placed on the investor are maintained throughout the entire period of stay in the USA on the E-2 visa. If you do not cope with this, your visa may be canceled prior to the expiration date.
  • This visa is not used to receive in a consequence a Green Card. At the same time, there are no impediments for E-2 visa holders to obtain permanent residence in the USA through other ways; more often it is done through an EB-5 visa.
  • E-2 visa can be obtained only by citizens of countries with which the USA has the Treaty of Commerce and Navigation. These countries include: Ukraine, Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Moldova, Poland, and other countries. *** Russia and Belarus are not included in this list.

Is the assistance of a lawyer necessary for obtaining an E-2 visa?

Certainly. Of course, you can submit all documents on your own, but the assistance of an experienced immigration lawyer is a guarantee that you will not make mistakes when applying for the visa. Problems may arise at least at the stage of collecting the required documents – if you are not familiar with the visa application procedure, you will most likely either forget about something or fill in some forms incorrectly. An experienced lawyer will control the entire process from collecting documents to obtaining an E-2 visa. If you want to get the E-2 visa, use help of professionals. We will tell you how to become an investor in the USA and avoid all possible difficulties. It is necessary to take into account all the details in order to achieve the best result and with our team, you can do it!

Визу Е-2 могут получить только граждане стран, с которыми США поддерживает договор о торговле и мореплавании. В число таких стран входят:
  • Украина
  • Литва
  • Латвия
  • Эстония
  • Казахстан
  • Кыргызстан
  • Армения
  • Азербайджан
  • Грузия
  • Молдавия
  • Польша

Какие преимущества стоит выделить?

  • Самое главное — виза инвестора в США E-2 даёт право стать собственником бизнеса — причём как частным собственником, так и его основным партнёром.
  • Продлевать данную визу можно неограниченное количество раз, в зависимости от состояния вашего бизнеса в США.
  • Вы избавлены от долгого периода ожидания, поскольку виза не иммиграционная.
  • Получение визы Е-2 — залог того, что вы можете работать в США на собственном предприятии, получать заработную плату и прибыль так же, как и граждане Америки.
  • Членов вашей семьи (супруга/супругу и детей) также можно перевезти с собой в США по визе Е-2. На детей получить данную визу можно до исполения 21 года.
  • Если на предприятии, в которое вы инвестируете, работает много людей, можно получить дополнительные визы Е-2 для главных менеджеров. Они могут находиться в США по визам Е-2, пока вы работаете в компании.
  • Если вы получили визу инвестора E-2, можете спокойно приобрести недвижимость в США. Даже когда вы потеряете визовый статус, собственность останется вашей.

Могут ли члены семьи получить визу E-2?

page-41__image-1

Да, такая возможность есть: дети и супруги инвестора могут получить Е-2 визу. По пребытию в США cупруги имеют право подать на разрешение на работу и работать на любом предприятии, в том числе в компании инвестора.

Сопровождающие дети до 21 года могут получить только нерабочий статус, который позволит им учиться в американской школе/колледже, но не позволит зарабатывать деньги.

Чем виза E-2 отличается от L-1?

Виза Е-2 имеет свои преимущества по отношению к другим неиммиграционным визам. L-1 и Е-2 во многом отличаются друг от друга, но у каждой есть свои плюсы и минусы.

Самое главное, нужно помнить: вы можете проработать в Америке много лет, не претендуя на постоянное место жительства. При этом вы можете иметь иммиграционные намерения — виза L-1 это позволяет, в то время как виза Е-2 — нет.

Чтобы получить одобрение заявления на визу Е-2, вам не нужно получать подтверждение от Иммиграционной Службы США — достаточно дождаться решения Американского Консульства в стране вашего проживания.

Виза E-2 может выдаваться на разные сроки – от 3 месяцев то 5 лет, в зависимости от страны гражданства заявителя. Но получив визу Е-2, её можно постоянно продлевать, даже если речь идёт об инвестициях в новую компанию. Жёстких временных рамок нет. Пока вы вкладываете деньги в бизнес в США, вы подходите под требования данной визы и можете быть спокойны.

Ещё важно знать, что тем, кто хочет получить визу Е-2, не нужно доказывать владение бизнесом в стране проживания или наличие связей между американской и иностранной компаниями.

Двойные иммиграционные и неиммиграционные намерения

Неиммиграционные намерения — главная черта визы инвестора Е-2, которая отличает ее от L-1.  При подаче заявления на Е-2 визу вы должны подтвердить, что уедите из США по истечении срока её действия, то есть оставаться в США не планируете.

В отличии от E-2 визы, если вы являетесь владельцем, исполнительным директором или руководящим работником и получили визу L-1, то вам позволено иметь двойные иммиграционные намерения. То есть даже если вы планируете в будущем иммигрировать в США и говорите об этом прямым текстом, и даже если подали документы на вид на жительство, L-1 визу вам всё равно оформят (но не E-2).

Какие требования предъявляются к желающему получить визу E-2?

  • page-41__image-2
    В первую очередь, вы должны являться гражданином той страны, с которой разрешены инвестиции на взаимовыгодных условиях. В противном случае, визу Е-2 невозможно получить даже с учётом выполнения всех остальных требований.
  • page-41__image-5
    Вы должны доказать, что у вас достаточно финансовых средств на это. Т.е. для получения Е-2 визы, вы должны продемонстрировать, что вы состоятельный человек, и что при вложении денег в Американский бизнес, вы не отнимаете у себя и семьи последний кусок хлеба.
  • page-41__image-4

    Вы обязаны доказать происхождение ваших финансовых средств. Это, пожалуй, самое важное и сложное требованиe к желающим получить Е-2 визу.  Деньги, которые вы вкладываете в покупку или открытие бизнеса должны быть честно заработаны.  Они должны были попасть к вам на личный банковский счет, за них должны быть уплачены налоги.

    Если это деньги, заработанные путем ведения собственного бизнеса, в таком случае вы не можете использовать средства, лежащие на банковском счету вашего бизнеса. Эти деньги нужно перевести на личный счет и проплатить налоги за прибыль.  Если ваши накопления связаны с продажей недвижимости, вы должны продемонстрировать, что недвижимость была именно вашей или, если не ваша, то имеется дарственная.  Вы не можете использовать ваши офшорные счета для инвестиций в США по Е-2 визе.  Если вам средства выделил родственник или супруг, то нужно доказывать легальность его или её средств.

    Само перечисление средств в США тоже должно быть легальным и прозрачным.  Это не могут быть деньги, привезенные в чемодане, или деньги, заработанные в США не имея специального рабочего статуса.  Нужно иметь конкретные банковские выписки, показывающие как деньги попали из вашего личного банка в вашей стране в Американский банк.

  • page-41__image-3
    Нужно будет пройти так называемый тест пропорциональности, чтобы можно было определить, насколько значителен ваш вклад и значителен ли вообще. Например, вы не можете купить убыточный маленький недействующий бизнес за миллион долларов, если такой бизнес на рынке стоит не более $100.000. Вы не можете преувеличить цену бизнеса ради того, чтобы показать ваши значительные инвестиции в США.
  • page-41__image-6
    Когда вы инвестируете деньги в бизнес в США, нужно доказать, что вы готовы развивать этот бизнес и управлять своими инвестициями. Согласно иммиграционному законодательству США, минимум 50% интереса в приобретённой компании должно принадлежать вам и вы должны контролировать управление предприятием. В связи с этим владение 51% или более интереса в приобретённой компании увеличивает ваши шансы на получение визы Е-2, так как при контрольном пакете интереса в компании, контроль над самим предприятием точно за вами, а вот доказать контроль в управлении при 50% интереса не всегда легко.
  • page-41__image-7
    Если вы вкладываете в бизнес, очень важно организовать рабочие места и для граждан Америки. В противном случае ваше предприятие сочтут как базу для работников вашей страны, что является прямым нарушением инвестиционного соглашения. Всегда рассчитывайте на то, что определённое количество рабочих мест должно отводиться гражданам США. К их числу особых требований нет, но его нужно соотносить с общим количеством рабочих мест в компании.
  • page-41__image-8
    Каждый инвестор должен доказать, что он обладает деловой хваткой, умением вести бизнес и серьёзным опытом работы. Также вам нужно будет продемонстрировать, что у вас есть связи с Родиной и в стране вашего постоянного проживания вы состоятельный бизнесмен, у которого имеются финансовые средства и возможности.

Инвестиции — это только деньги?

Нет, вы можете вложить в бизнес в США не только наличные деньги, особенно если речь идёт о первоначальном взносе. Реальные активы тоже играют большую роль.

К примеру, если компания только открылась, хорошим вкладом может стать оборудование, различный инвентарь и т.д. Такой род инвестиций оценят по достоинству: если вы стремитесь оснастить фирму необходимым оборудованием, значит вы намерены серьёзно отнестись к её развитию.

Также к инвестициям относятся недвижимость, денежные расходы, связанные с компанией, например, услуги юриста.

page-41__image-9

Какие документы нужно предоставить, чтобы доказать ваш вклад в развитие бизнеса?

Когда вы выделяете определённый капитал для инвестирования, нужно зафиксировать его размер. Для этого необходимо предоставить следующие документы:
  • документы из банка, подтверждающие перевод денежных средств для инвестирования в бизнес в США;
  • документы о переводе акций;
  • выписка из банка, отражающая нынешнее состояние баланса на вашем счёте;
  • документы, подтверждающие, что часть инвестиционных фондов третьего лица заморожена до тех пор, пока эти средства не получит заявитель на визу Е-2;
  • договор купли-продажи бизнеса в США;
  • договор аренды или договор на покупку недвижимости, в которой вы как инвестор будете заниматься бизнесом в США;
  • долговые обязательства фирмы, которые перешли к новому руководителю;
  • документ на перевод инвентаря или товара, который производит компания, если вы решили перевозить всё это из другой страны.

Также необходимо предоставить документы о том, какими источниками инвестиций вы воспользовались для приобретения бизнеса в США. Это могут быть банковские счета, сбережения, ваши налоги на прибыль в вашей стране, переводы акций или денежные фонды.

Имеет ли значение, откуда брать деньги на инвестирование?

Разумеется! Не случайно последним пунктом перечислены документы, подтверждающие легальный источник ваших инвестиций. Мошенники в этой сфере — не редкость, поэтому все документы подвергаются тщательной проверке. Если вы хотите получить визу Е-2 без проблем, учтите ваши инвестиции должны поступать из легального источника, в противном случае вы можете забыть о въезде на территорию Америки.

Есть ли ограничения?

Ограничения есть всегда, и у визы инвестора в США Е-2 в том числе.

  • Из-за того, что она не является иммиграционной, время от времени нужно её продлевать. Срок действия визы может варьироваться от 3 месяцев до 5 лет, в зависимости от страны гражданства заявителя.
  • Все требования, которые предъявляют к инвестору, нужно поддерживать в течение всего времени пребывания в США по визе Е-2. Если вы не справитесь с этим, ваша виза может быть аннулирована ранее срока окончания визы.
  • Именно эта виза не имеет потенциала в получении Грин Карты, однако её наличие не мешает пытаться получить вид на жительство в США через другие пути — чаще это через ЕB-5.
  • Визу Е-2 могут получить только граждане стран, с которыми США поддерживает договор о торговле и мореплавании. В число таких стран входят Украина, Литва, Латвия, Эстония, Казахстан, Кыргызстан, Армения, Азербайджан, Грузия, Молдавия, Польша и другие страны.

    ***Россия и Беларусь не входят в данный список.

Нужен ли адвокат для получения визы Е-2?

Разумеется. Да, вы можете подавать документы и самостоятельно, однако помощь опытного иммиграционного адвоката — гарантия того, что вы не совершите ошибок при подаче на визу. Проблемы могут возникнуть как минимум при сборе необходимых документов: если вы не знакомы с процедурой получения визы, то, скорее всего, или о чём-то забудете, или неверно что-то заполните. Опытный юрист проконтролирует весь процесс от сбора документов до получения визы Е-2. Если вы хотите получить визу Е-2, воспользуйтесь помощью профессионалов: мы расскажем, как стать инвестором в США и избежать всех возможных сложностей. Нужно учесть все нюансы, чтобы добиться лучшего результата — и с нашей командой вам это удастся.